top of page

Senate Approves Redistricting Map with 36 Strong Republican Seats

The Mississippi Senate today approved a new legislative redistricting map which secures 36 strong Republican seats moving into the 2023 election cycle.

Four of the Senate’s 52 seats which elected Democrats in the past 10 years now solidly favor conservatives. Redistricting is required by law every 10 years after U.S. Census numbers are released. The Mississippi Senate’s map was last redrawn in 2012.

“We are grateful for the leadership of Senator Dean Kirby and members of the committee in the redistricting process on the Senate side. The outcome of his hard work is a fair Senate map providing a conservative majority reflective of the Mississippi citizenry,” Lt. Governor Delbert Hosemann said.

The Senate side of the Joint Committee on Legislative Reapportionment includes 10 members, seven of which are Republicans. This is the same political make-up in the Senate as the 2012 committee appointed by the previous Lieutenant Governor.

In August, the committee held nine public hearings all over the state. Senator Kirby coordinated the process of drawing the new Senate map over the next several months.

The proposed Senate map can be viewed here. For more information on Lieutenant Governor Delbert Hosemann, visit


bottom of page